MINUTES OF THE 117th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE GORDON DISTRICT CRICKET CLUB INC HELD AT KILLARA GOLF CLUB ON MONDAY 11th JULY, 2022 at 6.45 pm

PRESENT:

As per Secretary's list

APOLOGIES:

As per Secretary's list

GUESTS:

President Michael Cant welcomed members and guests:

Mr. Marshall Rosen (Cricket NSW)

Andrew Falk (SCA, Committee of Management)

Life Members – Marshall Rosen, Jim Cattlin, Michael Falk, Andrew Falk, Geoff Hickman, Ed Howitt Jr., Michael Cant, Cuthbert Berenger, Tony Wilson, Peter Horwitz, Phil Emery & Scott Hinton

Women's Division – Jessica Henry and Karen Hill.

NOTICE OF MEETING:

Read by Hon. Secretary.

APOLOGIES:

Read and recorded by the Hon. Secretary

OBITUARIES: The passing of Mrs Marjorie Evans, Messrs Don Harkness & Michael McKaughan was acknowledged and recognised.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING:

The President tabled the Minutes of the Previous Meeting which had been circulated with the Notice of Meeting and asked for a motion that the Minutes be taken as read – moved by J Cattlin, seconded S Hinton. Also, that he sign the Minutes as being a true and correct record of the business transacted at the previous AGM. Moved A Falk, Seconded G Keevers. Carried

ADOPTION OF ANNUAL REPORT AND FINANCIAL STATEMENT:

The Club President, Mr. Michael Cant proposed the adoption of the 117th Annual Report and Balance Sheet.

He summarised a difficult season due to COVID-19 concerns. He thanked all the volunteers for their efforts, especially Glenn Tullia and others who had been involved with the Underarm Lunch. He congratulated the Junior Club on a successful season. He gave special thanks to the sponsors, all volunteers especially Geoff Keevers for his work as Hon Treasurer, Peter Cronin retiring Hon Auditor, Mark Carmichael as Cricket Director and Scott Hinton and David Bezer from Junior Club. He congratulated Matt Wright and Ryan Tullia as co-Club Captains for generating great club spirit. He congratulated the Women's Division on a good season and the relationship with the Men's club. The challenges ahead were with facilities and raising revenue as well as lifting performance to match other clubs. He thanked retiring Hon Sec Jim Cattlin for his contribution to the club over many years. Jim Cattlin seconded the motion to adopt the Annual Report and Balance Sheet. Motion carried

Geoff Keevers, Hon Treasurer spoke to the motion giving details of the financial position outlining the percentage of revenue which was impacted by COVID pandemic and various expenditure items.

Special Resolution to amend Clause 16.2.5 and Rule 32 of the Rules of the Club -

to delete the word "Honorary" before the words "Auditor or Auditors" such that these clauses read:

- "16.2.5 elect an Auditor or Auditors; and"
- "32. AUDIT. The Auditor or Auditors appointed by the members......"

Andrew Falk proposed these amendments and explained that the purpose of this changes would allow the Club's elected auditor(s) to receive a remuneration or other benefit in money or money's worth for auditing the Club's accounts each year. Seconded by Geoff Keevers. Motion carried.

ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS:

The following were elected unopposed:

Patrons: The Mayors of Willoughby and Ku-ring-gai and Mr Ian Carroll AM

President: Michael Cant
Hon. Secretary: Andrew Falk
Assist Hon. Sec: Vacant
Hon. Treasurer: Geoff Keevers

Holl. Heasurel. Geoli Reevels

Delegates to SCA: Andrew Falk & Michael Cant

Delegate to CNSW: Andrew Falk

General Committee: Michael Cant, Mark Carmichael, Glenn Tullia, Scott Hinton, Rob Carruthers,

Jim Wright, Ben Callanan, Ben Woods and Bob Thomas

Hon. Auditor: Trumans

REPORT from SCA

Mr. Andrew Falk – Thanked the Club for its COVID vigilance during last season. He advised of new facilities at Allan Border Oval and work progressing at Mark Taylor Oval. FrogBox now being used by 16 Premier Men's Clubs and all Women's Premier Clubs for live-streaming of matches. The SCA Judiciary was not required to be as active last season. He detailed a number of Playing Condition changes that were being considered by the Committee of Management and thanked the Club for its ongoing support of the SCA's/CNSW's sponsors.

REPORT from CNSW

Mr. Marshall Rosen summarised events of the past season and performance of the State teams. Performance needs to improve despite the representation in Tests. CNSW has guaranteed to maintain grants to at least the level of the previous season. There was a serious loss of revenue from CA to CNSW due to the effects of COVID on the schedule and crowd attendance, especially at BBL games. The states have to cover this loss as affiliates of CA. Wilson Park is nearing completion and is occupied by office staff. Practice facilities will be available in due course.

CRICKET COMMITTEE REPORT: **Mark Carmichael** reported on the performance of the teams last season. He particularly thanked Max Newman for stepping in as 1st Grade captain when Tym Crawford could not play due to injury. He thanked Elliot Richtor and other coaches for their efforts. The Club looks forward to the return of Tym Crawford next season.

Nomination for Election to Life Membership – Robert Thomas.

Jim Cattlin proposed the nomination outlining Robert's outstanding career as a player, selector, committee member, recruiter of players for the Academy and Green Shield team as well as his contribution to starting the Gordon Women's Division. **Michael Falk** seconded the proposal. **Tony Wilson** and **Jessica Henry** also spoke to the nomination. This motion was Carried unanimously. The President congratulated Robert on his election and presented him with a Life Membership pin. Robert responded, especially mentioning his close friendship with former player, Mick McKaughan, who had passed away recently.

The President presented Scott Hinton with his Life Membership pin due to the AGM last year being held as a virtual meeting.

GENERAL BUSINESS

Michael Cant thanked the Killara Golf Club for hosting the meeting and all for their attendance.

CLOSE: The meeting closed at 8.30 pm

President, Gordon District Cricket Club Inc

APOLOGIES AND ATTENDEES - GDCC AGM - MONDAY 11TH JULY 2022

Apologies	Attendees
Bill Havercroft	Michael Cant
Ian Packman	Andrew Falk
John Toohey	Jim Cattlin
Geoff Verco	Ed Howitt Jnr
Paul Stephenson	Marshall Rosen
Ben Parsons	Glenn Tullia
Graham Mackie	Ryan Tullia
David Bezer	Cuthbert Berenger
Beny Chun	Jess Henry
	Karen Hill
	Geoff Hickman
	Bob Thomas
	Geoff Keevers
	Michael Falk
	Ben Callanan
	Mark Carmichael
	Bala Subramanian
	Scott Hinton
	Tony Wilson
	Tym Crawford
	Connor Cook
	Charlie Mitchell
	Jamie Bekis
	Dick Huey
	Rob Carruthers
	Ben Woods
	Matt Wright
	Jim Wright
	Sam Buono
	Phil Emery
	Michael Berman
	Jackson Saggers
	Peter Horwitz